SMEs News

Get News And Current Events

Dreams from My Father: A Story of Race and Inheritance (Hardcover)

Dreams from My Father: A Story of Race and InheritanceElected the first black president of the Harvard Law Review, Obama was offered a book contract, but the intellectual journey he planned to recount became instead this poignant, probing memoir of an unusual life. Born in 1961 to a white American woman and a black Kenyan student, Obama was reared in Hawaii by his mother and her parents, his father having left for further study and a return home to Africa. So Obama’s not-unhappy youth is nevertheless a lonely voyage to racial identity, tensions in school, struggling with black literature?with one month-long visit when he was 10 from his commanding father. After college, Obama became a community organizer in Chicago. He slowly found place and purpose among folks of similar hue but different memory, winning enough small victories to commit himself to the work?he’s now a civil rights lawyer there. Before going to law school, he finally visited Kenya; with his father dead, he still confronted obligation and (more…)

29/03/2009 - Posted by | New Books | , , , ,

20 Comments »

  1. 5.0 out of 5 stars
    Good for us!
    So happy to have this book. Think I’ll grow as a person in learning to appreciate our wonderful diversity legacy.

    Comment by Acton | 29/03/2009 | Reply

  2. 5.0 out of 5 stars
    Brilliant – a must for the modern age
    Forgetting for a moment who wrote this book; this is an engaging, thoughtful, intelligent, perceptive read.

    Comment by Estrella | 29/03/2009 | Reply

  3. 3.0 out of 5 stars
    Good book, but I Couldn’t get Through It
    I’ll preface this by saying that I love Barack Obama and think he’s the best thing that has happened to this country in a long time – there I’ve said it, you can stop reading now…

    Comment by Nuala | 29/03/2009 | Reply

  4. 5.0 out of 5 stars
    Dreams of my Father/audio
    I heard this reviewed on the NPR Diane Rehm show and was quite taken by the President’s narration of his memoir.

    Comment by Sy | 29/03/2009 | Reply

  5. 3.0 out of 5 stars
    My first disappointment with Obama
    I’ve just finished Dreams from My Father, and I am disappointed. While I have been very excited about and supportive of the candidate and now President Obama, I am glad I read…

    Comment by Bat | 29/03/2009 | Reply

  6. 3.0 out of 5 stars
    Got lost in Africa
    This one moved too slow for me, especially when we got to the extended family in Africa. The ending also seemed to be hurried.

    Comment by Anonymous | 29/03/2009 | Reply

  7. 5.0 out of 5 stars
    Good for us!
    So happy to have this book. Think I’ll grow as a person in learning to appreciate our wonderful diversity legacy.

    Comment by Acton | 29/03/2009 | Reply

  8. 5.0 out of 5 stars
    Dreams from my Father, Barack Obama
    Amazing that such a frank, brilliant, talented, committed & real person could be elected president! Definite sign that the torch has passed to a new, younger generation.

    Comment by Tub Transfer Bench | 29/03/2009 | Reply

  9. 5.0 out of 5 stars
    Brilliant – a must for the modern age
    Forgetting for a moment who wrote this book; this is an engaging, thoughtful, intelligent, perceptive read.

    Comment by Estrella | 29/03/2009 | Reply

  10. 5.0 out of 5 stars
    So REAL for a politician
    I love this book because it’s so unpretentious and honest for someone with political aspirations; perhaps Obama didn’t have any when he wrote the book after graduating from law…

    Comment by Lakeithia | 29/03/2009 | Reply

  11. 3.0 out of 5 stars
    Good book, but I Couldn’t get Through It
    I’ll preface this by saying that I love Barack Obama and think he’s the best thing that has happened to this country in a long time – there I’ve said it, you can stop reading now…

    Comment by Nuala | 29/03/2009 | Reply

  12. 5.0 out of 5 stars
    Dreams of my Father/audio
    I heard this reviewed on the NPR Diane Rehm show and was quite taken by the President’s narration of his memoir.

    Comment by Sy | 29/03/2009 | Reply

  13. 3.0 out of 5 stars
    My first disappointment with Obama
    I’ve just finished Dreams from My Father, and I am disappointed. While I have been very excited about and supportive of the candidate and now President Obama, I am glad I read…

    Comment by Bat | 29/03/2009 | Reply

  14. 3.0 out of 5 stars
    Got lost in Africa
    This one moved too slow for me, especially when we got to the extended family in Africa. The ending also seemed to be hurried.

    Comment by Anonymous | 29/03/2009 | Reply

  15. 5.0 out of 5 stars
    Dreams from my Father, Barack Obama
    Amazing that such a frank, brilliant, talented, committed & real person could be elected president! Definite sign that the torch has passed to a new, younger generation.

    Comment by Tub Transfer Bench | 29/03/2009 | Reply

  16. 5.0 out of 5 stars
    So REAL for a politician
    I love this book because it’s so unpretentious and honest for someone with political aspirations; perhaps Obama didn’t have any when he wrote the book after graduating from law…

    Comment by Lakeithia | 29/03/2009 | Reply

  17. 5.0 out of 5 stars
    Hail to the Chief
    This book and “The Audacity of Hope” evidence the fact that the US now has the most erudite and intelligent man in the Oval Office since at least JFK (who won a Pulitzer for…

    Comment by Solar Pool Heaters | 29/03/2009 | Reply

  18. 5.0 out of 5 stars
    A Portrait of Our President as a Young Man!
    This book is gorgeous. Every American should read it so that he or she can understadna where Barack is coming from, what he holds dear. . . It is poetic, powerful . .

    Comment by Fanchon | 29/03/2009 | Reply

  19. 5.0 out of 5 stars
    Hail to the Chief
    This book and “The Audacity of Hope” evidence the fact that the US now has the most erudite and intelligent man in the Oval Office since at least JFK (who won a Pulitzer for…

    Comment by Solar Pool Heaters | 29/03/2009 | Reply

  20. 5.0 out of 5 stars
    A Portrait of Our President as a Young Man!
    This book is gorgeous. Every American should read it so that he or she can understadna where Barack is coming from, what he holds dear. . . It is poetic, powerful . .

    Comment by Fanchon | 29/03/2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

